The Rusalka Cycle - Songs Between the Worlds


The Rusalka Cycle - Songs Between the Worlds


Music from the 2005 vocal-theater project co-created by Kitka, composer and music director Mariana Sadovska, and stage director Ellen Sebastian Chang.

In Slavic folklore, Rusalki are the restless spirits of women who have died unjust, untimely or unnatural deaths. They inhabit the waters, forests, and fields, luring people to them with their mesmerizing songs and wild laughter. Performed by the eight powerful vocalists of Kitka, The Rusalka Cycle is a riveting dream-like journey that weaves traditional Eastern European folk song together with original music by Mariana Sadovska. This CD features Kitka singing as you’ve never heard them sing before. With stirring accompaniment by cellists Moses Sedler and Elaine Kreston, and percussionist Kevin Mummey, this CD captures the highly dramatic and risk-taking performance piece that took the San Francisco Bay Area by storm in the fall of 2005, and nationally and internationally in 2007-2008. (2008)

Compact disc or high-quality download (link below)

Add To Cart

1. Awakening
2. River Rose
3. Wave
4. Farewell
5. Transformation
6. Last Night
7. Sirens
8. Lamentation
9. To the Lake

listen now